Scholarship recipients

Each year, NATAS-UMW Foundation awards several scholarships to students within our chapter region (Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, Iowa and western Wisconsin).

This year, thanks to help from generous sponsorship contributions from the Bob Fransen Family, The Ulysses Carlini family, as well as our chapter members and past Gold & Silver Circle honorees, we are able to award scholarships to area students! This year’s scholarship recipients will receive $1,500 for tuition & books costs for school in the fall of 2022.

Since 2002, the NATAS-UMW Foundation has awarded 95 scholarships worth $216,000 to regional students who want to study media production or journalism in college.

2022 Recipients
Kylie Kasprick - St. Olaf College

Kylie Kasprick distinguished herself as a leader in video news reporting classes. Teachers describe her as consistently offering thoughtful insights to the class discussion and submitting excellent and punctual homework.

Kylie quickly assumes lead roles in a group projects, takes initiative, gets the job done and does it with style. Moreover, Kylie has proven herself well beyond the classroom: she’s made her mark on the St. Olaf community by even launching her own student organization.

Kylie couples her strong work ethic and talents with an understanding of the inequalities in our community. She fundamentally believes in the power of “giving a voice to the voiceless.”

Wesley Papp - Univ. of Wisconsin - River Falls

Wesley Papp is studying Stage & Screen Arts + Marketing Communications at University of Wisconsin – River Falls. He is involved with student Productions and served as Director of Photography for Student-Led "FOCUS ON U" Production Company.

Welsey owns his own production company which has produced a lyric music video for a local artist and created content for two MMA fighters.

Wesley is active with Twin Cities community television stations working on shows for Hastings Community Television and Town Square Television. He’s also into social media, creating content for Crossroads Church and First Congregational Church of Christ.

2022 Recipients
high school scholarship
Emma Stroner - Webster City High School (IowA)

Emma Stroner is very active in WCTV at Webster City High School in Iowa. She’s a two-time Upper Midwest Emmy® Foundation Student Production Award Nominee. She is a former WCTV Student Director and has won several awards from her school TV station.

Emma is active outside the TV studio too. She competes in speech, is active in plays & musicals, and is a basketball & football cheerleader.

Emma will go to Drake University this fall to study at the School of Journalism and Mass Communication with our Emmy® Scholarship and a Presidential Scholarship.

Nathan Selander - Southwest High School (Minneapolis)

Nathan Selander is Director of Cinematography - Anchor News at Southwest High School in Minneapolis. Nathan learns by doing! He hasn’t had any formal internships for TV, Film, or Media, but he’s created a handful of short film projects for film classes.

Nathan did an in-depth film project as part of a FilmNorth Academy last summer. He created a short commercial where he learned more about how to create meaningful visuals in hopes of positively impacting the audience.

Nathan regularly volunteers at Second Harvest Heartland, Feed My Starving Children, Salvation Army, the Animal Humane Society, and youth scouting efforts. He will study film at DePaul University in Chicago this fall.