Featured Articles News Recipients Student Production Awards

2020 High School Student Production Award Recipients

Congratulations to the High School recipients in the 2020 Upper Midwest Emmy® Foundation Student Production Awards!  Recipients were announced at a ceremony on Friday 3rd, 2020.

This year, the NATAS – Upper Midwest Chapter received nearly 185 entries from 30 high schools and colleges/universities from across our region.

2020 Student production Awards Host Carla Beaurline – Around Town TV/MCN6

Friday April 3rd we held a special video ceremony hosted by Carla Beaurline – Around Town TV & MCN6. We dedicated this video ceremony to students & educators who will miss proms, sporting events or graduation ceremonies this spring. The Board of Governors teamed up with regional media professionals who volunteered their time and resources to bring students and educators this special event.

The awards are presented to the schools for promotional purposes to encourage students to pursue the media arts.    Any student whose name is on the recipient entry form is eligible to purchase a duplicate Crystal Pillar Award.  We also offer nomination certificates and plaques for students listed on nominated entries.

High School Student Crystal Pillar order form

Student Nomination certificate order form

High School Student Production Award Crystal Pillar

OFFICIAL NATIONAL NATAS RULES FOR STUDENT AWARD PROMOTION: You may promote you received an Upper Midwest Emmy® Student Production Award or Nomination. PLEASE DO NOT REFER TO THESE AWARDS AS STUDENT EMMYS. Students are not considered peer professionals and as such, their regional student productions are NOT eligible to be promoted as a Regional Emmy® award recognition.  Students may refer to being nominated or recipient of a Student Production Award from the Upper Midwest Emmy® Foundation  or Upper Midwest Emmy® Student Production Award or Nominee. Students and schools may not use the Emmy® name or replica of the Emmy® figure in any form of school publications, commercial advertising and promotion.  Crystal Pillar Awards are presented to recipient schools for promotional purposes.  Students listed on official entry are eligible to purchase awards.

2020 High School Student Production Award Recipients

High School – Newscast

EaglEye #189 – Apple Valley High School

  • Gabriel Peña, Anchor/Producer
  • Faith Johnson, Anchor/Producer
  • Cliff Dodge, Advisor
  • Andrew McCluskey, Advisor

High School – News: General Assignment – Serious News

Jordan Bolton – One of Ours – Eagleye- Apple Valley High School

  • Hunter Bertram, Talent
  • Jarett Huard,  Videographer

High School – News: General Assignment – Light News

iPad Possibilities – Eagleye- Apple Valley High School

  • Hunter Bertram, Talent
  • Drew Carruth, Camera

High School – Arts & Entertainment/Cultural Affairs 

Cinco de Mayo Parade – The Flash – Eastview High School

  • Olivia Cuoco, Reporter
  • Jill Lamkins, Videographer

High School – Music Video

Leave it to the Northside – Minneapolis North High School

  • Kelan Holcomb, Lyricist
  • Jacob Butler, Director/Cinemotgrapher
  • Maresha Green, Director/Cinemtographer
  • Jasiona White, Singer/Songwriter/Dancer
  • Demetria Jones, Singer/Songwriter
  • Monaea Upton, Singer/Dancer
  • Nijionna Montjoy, Dancer
  • Shamaia Ross-Hawkins, Dancer
  • Khadija Ba, Singer/Dancer
  • Samuel Wilbur, Teacher

High School Short Form:  Fiction

Our War – Saint Thomas Academy

  • Pawel Williams, Producer/Director
  • Stephanie Heidorn, Advisor

High School – Short Form: Non-Fiction **TWO RECIPIENTS**

Addiction Adversity – The Flash – Eastview High School

  • Abby Lindgren, Reporter

Home- Bemidji High School

  • Gavin Kestner, Videographer/Editor
  • Westin Gourneau, Actor/Editor

High School – Long Form: Fiction

Family First – Saint Thomas Academy

  • Nicholas Tucci, Producer
  • Stephanie Heidorn, Advisor

High School Long Form: Non-Fiction (No Nominees)

High School – Sports

Coaches Corner – Lake Park Audubon High School

  • Justin How, Photographer
  • MacKenzie Ehlers, Editor

HS Sports Program (No entries)

High School – Sports – Live Event

Football: Providence Academy at Kennedy BEC-TV- Bloomington Educational Cable Television

  • Joe Wiklund, Student Producer/Director
  • Zach Vacura, Director/Camera
  • Max Manwarren, Graphics/Camera
  • Lucas Krieg, Replays/Audio
  • Jeremy Lee, Replays/Camera
  • Vladislav Budiak, Audio/Camera
  • Tom Ringdal, Advisor

High School – Public Service (PSAs) **Two Recipients**

Distracted Driving – Minnetonka High School

  • Hanna Baskin, Director
  • Katie Rohling, Interviewer
  • Drew Sigel, Film
  • Bryce Rega, Editor

Gun Safety – Minnetonka High School

  • Andrew Hicks, Producer
  • Fletcher Anderson, Editor
  • Joe Sorenson, Cinematographer
  • Jackson Sinykin, Director

High School – Public Affairs/Community Service

Youth Climate Change – The Flash- Eastview High School

  • Iqra Ismail, Reporter
  • Kyle Hoang, Producer/Videographer

High School – Magazine

EaglEye #179 – Apple Valley High School

  • Sara Abourjeily, Anchor/Producer
  • Gabriel Peña, Anchor/Producer
  • Rapheall Davis, Anchor/Producer
  • Andrew McCluskey, Advisor
  • Cliff Dodge, Advisor

High School – Commercial

Ashery Lane Farm – Minnetonka High School

  • Katie Rohling, Research Coordinator
  • Drew Sigel, Editor
  • Christina Hansen, Communications Lead
  • Cole Komisar, Filmer/Editor
  • Michelle Senescall, Project Manager

High School – Animation/Graphics/Special Effects

Star Wars – The Flash- Eastview High School

  • Parker Hagebock, Animator
  • Jack Singer, Editor

HS Director (No Entries)

High School – Editor

Jarett Huard Eagleye- Apple Valley High School

High School – Photographer

Jarett Huard Eagleye- Apple Valley High School

High School – Talent

Hunter Bertram Eagleye- Apple Valley High School

High School – Video Essay

What is Love? The Flash – Eastview High School

  • Emma Rae, Reporter

High School – Writing

Hannah Robinson Eagleye- Apple Valley High School