Featured Articles News Nominees Student Production Awards

7 HS Nominations in National Student Production Awards

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences in New York is proud to announce its nominations for the 4th Annual National High School Student Production Awards!

The NATAS National High School Student Production Awards recognize outstanding achievement in video production. The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences promotes excellence by showcasing work created by high school students in news, craft and programming categories.

2019 NATAS National Student Production Award Nominees

The NATAS-Upper Midwest Chapter/Foundation is proud to have (7) SEVEN nominees in six different categories in this national competition.  Congratulations to the 2019 NATAS National High School Student Production Award nominees representing the Upper Midwest Emmy® Foundation.


The Flash 9.13.18 – Eastview High School

  • Joey Mayer, Anchor
  • Jake Brockman, Anchor
  • Olivia Cuoco, Reporter
  • Tyler Tschida, Reporter
  • Jillian Lamkins, Reporter
  • Nick Fornicoia, Advisor


The Masochism Tango – Central Campus – Des Moines Area Schools

  • Geneva Klein, Director/Editor
  • Tim Coleman, Advisor

Livin’ the Dream – Central Campus – Des Moines Area Schools

  • Michael Allen, Director/Editor
  • Tim Coleman, Advisor


Relics – Young Filmmakers Club– Eden Prairie High School

  • Carter Aakhus, Writer/Director/Cinematographer/Editor
  • Chase Anderson, Actor
  • David Nelson, Actor
  • Perry Kennedy Advisor


One Day At A Time – The Flash– Eastview High School

  • Jon Singer, Reporter/Editor
  • Nick Fornicoia, Advisor


Baseball Target Field – BEC-TV– Bloomington Educational Cable Television

  • Evan Faas, Director/Student Producer
  • Emma line Tarnowski, Technical Director
  • Elaina Fourniea, Graphics
  • Miles Ronning, Replay Operator
  • Ben Cannavo, Camera Operator
  • Nic Lee, Camera Operator
  • Zach Vacura, Audio
  • Alex Redding, Field Talent
  • Owen Ronning, Runner
  • Tom Ringdal, Advisor


Just Do It – The Flash– Eastview High School

  • Will Verduzco, Editor


(Official News Release)

New York, NY  – The Foundation of The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) today announced the nominees for The 2019 National Student Production Awards. Nominees were selected from high school student entries across the country in 24 programming and craft categories. The 2019 Student Production Awards will be hosted by the School of Media Studies at The New School, with Media Studies students assisting in producing the broadcast with the NATAS staff.

The awards presentation will be live-streamed from the campus of The New School on Friday, November 1st at 2pm EDT. The livestream can be viewed at the following locations:

NATAS/National Student Production Awards:
NATAS/Student Awards Twitter:
NATAS Facebook:

“The future journalists, analysts, correspondents and entertainers of the next generation will be found among these talented young nominees represented here,” said Adam Sharp, President & CEO, NATAS. “Highlighting their work and encouraging their pursuit of excellence is one of the primary mandates of our Foundation.”

“The National Student Production Awards challenge students to be actively engaged in their education by real world experiences,” said, Danielle Mannion, Education Chair, NATAS. “This year’s extraordinary entries represent true depth in storytelling and media production. We are extremely grateful to the hundreds of industry professionals who judged and critiqued these exceptional student productions and look forward to an exciting event at The New School.”

 This year’s submissions were successfully culled from over 2000 entries from the regional chapters of The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences. Entries were judged by selected industry professionals and media academics.

The program is produced by the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) and sponsored by the School of Media Studies at the New School.

Recipients will be announced on November 1, 2019 via a live web stream produced by NATAS. NATAS would like to thank and acknowledge The New School’s School of Media Studies ( for its facility and participation in making these awards possible.

About The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) is a professional service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational and technical achievements within the television industry. It recognizes excellence in television with the coveted Emmy Award for News & Documentary, Sports, Daytime Entertainment, Daytime Creative Arts & Entertainment, Public & Community Service, and Technology & Engineering. NATAS membership consists of over 17,000 broadcast and media professionals represented in 19 regional chapters across the country. Beyond awards, NATAS has extensive educational programs including Regional Student Television and its Student Award for Excellence for outstanding journalistic work by high school students, as well as scholarships, publications, and major activities for both industry professionals and the viewing public. For more information, please visit the website at

NATAS Social Media:
NATAS Website:
NATAS Facebook:
NATAS/National Student Production Awards: Awards Twitter: @NatasSPA