Featured Articles News Scholarships

2018 Upper Midwest Emmy® Scholarship Recipients

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences – Upper Midwest Chapter/Foundation is proud to announce its 2018 Scholarship recipients.

Each year, NATAS-UMW Chapter/Foundation awards several scholarships to students within our chapter region (Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, Iowa and western Wisconsin).

This year, thanks to help from generous sponsorship contributions from Slumberland, the Carlini and Beaurline families as well as our chapter members and past Gold & Silver Circle recipients, we are able to award $8,000 in scholarships to area students! This year, each scholarship recipient will receive $2,000 for tuition & books costs for school in the fall of 2018.

Since 2002, the NATAS-UMW Chapter/Foundation has awarded 84 scholarships worth $199,500 to regional students who want to study media production or journalism in college.


Spencer Schacht – St. Cloud State University


SPENCER SCHACHT – ST. CLOUD STATE UNIVERSITY – Spencer is active in both the campus television and radio stations. He is a News Director, Anchor, Reporter & Producer for UTVS. Spencer also works as News Director & DJ at KVSC 88.1 FM. Spencer has also been an intern at KELO-TV in Sioux Falls as well as news intern for EAA radio in Oshkosh, WI. and Intern Project Manager at the Centre for Investigative Journalism at Goldsmiths, University of London.


Erica Beebe – University of Minnesota

CARLINI MEDIA SCHOLARSHIP (Sponsored by Carlini Family)

ERICA BEEBE – UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA – Erica is on her way to start graduate school for her MFA in Documentary Filmmaking at the University of Edinburgh in London. While at the U of M, Erica was the sole videographer for the school’s newspaper “the Minnesota Daily”.  Erica has also interned on a Documentary about Minnesota House Representative Ilhan Omar. She also worked as a freelance production assistant for “Women in Blue”, a documentary women in the Minneapolis Police force.


Brenten Bartels – Roosevelt High School (Sioux Falls, SD)


BRENTEN BARTELS – ROOSEVELT HIGH SCHOOL (Sioux Falls, SD) – Brenten is a senior actively involved in his school’s video production department.  Since his sophomore year, Brenten has been Lead Broadcast/Commentator/Producer For Roosevelt Sports Broadcasting and Sioux Falls School District Public Television Sports. He’s also been a camera operator for two South Dakota State Wrestling Tournaments. Next year, Brenten will study Sports Broadcasting & Journalism at the University of Nebraska – Lincoln.


Kate Witte – Woodbury High School (MN)

UPPER MIDWEST EMMY® HIGH SCHOOL SCHOLARSHIP (Sponsored by Slumberland & Beaurline Family)

KATE WITTE – WOODBURY HIGH SCHOOL (MN) – Kate is a senior actively engaged in numerous school clubs and community outreach programs. She is currently interning at the Christian Cupboard Community Food Shelf, producing videos in Spanish to reach out an inform Spanish-speaking community members about the food shelf. Kate will study Communications this fall at DePaul University in Chicago..

If you’d like to help sponsor future NATAS scholarships, follow the link below for a form to send in your fully tax-deductible donation.
Click Here for NATAS-UMW Scholarship Donation form