Featured Articles News Student Production Awards

2016 High School Awards Recipients

Congratulations to the high school recipients in the 2016 NATAS-Upper Midwest Student Production Awards!  Recipients were announced at a ceremony on Sunday April 10th, 2016 at the Radisson Blu Hotel at the Mall of America.

This year, the NATAS – Upper Midwest Chapter received more than 260 entries from 40 different high schools and colleges/universities from across our region!

Jay Olstad/KARE-TV
Jay Olstad/KARE-TV

Jay Olstad from KARE-TV hosted the award ceremony and presented Crystal Pillars to the recipients.  The awards are presented to the schools for promotional purposes to encourage students to pursue the media arts.    Any student whose name is on the recipient entry form is eligible to purchase a duplicate Crystal Pillar Award.  We also offer nomination certificates and plaques for students listed on nominated entries.

HIGH SCHOOL Student Crystal Pillar order form

Student Nomination Plaque order form

Student Nomination certificate order form

Student Production Crystal Pillar Award
Student Production Crystal Pillar Award

OFFICIAL NATIONAL NATAS RULES FOR STUDENT AWARD PROMOTION: High school & college/university students may refer to the fact that they are recipients of a NATAS – Upper Midwest Regional Student Production Award.  OR, they may say they received a Student Production Crystal Pillar Award from the Upper Midwest Emmy® Chapter/Foundation.   Students are not considered peer professionals and as such, their regional student productions are not eligible for Emmy® award recognition. Schools/students may not use the Emmy® name or replica of the Emmy® figure in any form of school publications, commercial advertising and promotion.

The NATAS – Upper Midwest Chapter/Foundation

2016 High School Student Television Award Recipients are… 

H-01: High School – Newscast

The Flash Special: People For Sale – Eastview High School

  • Katelyn Toner, Anchor
  • Sunita Dharod, Reporter
  • Anita Dharod, Reporter
  • Jillian Welborn, Writer
  • Katie Lords, Photographer
  • Branson Reasor, Director
  • Peter Liffrig, Producer
  • Casey Dravis, Idea Man
  • Nick Fornicioa, Advisor
  • The Flash Crew

H-02: High School – News: General Assignment – Serious News

Drawing Drew – EaglEye – Apple Valley High School

  • Emily Severson, Reporter
  • Ivan Calixto, Producer
  • Matt Kotlan, Photographer/Editor/writer

H-03: High School – News: General Assignment – Light News

The Story Behind the Race – Bemidji High School

  • Atomic Thorson, Director/Camera/Editor

H-04: High School – Arts and Entertainment/Cultural Affairs 

EPHS Jazz Band Story 2015 – EagleVision News – Eden Prairie High School

  • Joel Myers, Producer/Editor/Videographer
  • Michael Anderson, Producer/Editor/Videographer

H-05: High School – Music Video

Of the Night – Central Campus – Des Moines Public Schools

  • Helena Gruensteidl, Director
  • Tim Coleman, Advisor

H-06: High School – Fiction (***THREE RECIPIENTS***)

Altair’s Domain – Young Filmaker’s Club – Eden Prairie High School

  • Martin Blanco, Writer/Director/Producer
  • Joel Myers, Director of Photography
  • Clayton Stansberry, Actor/Music Composer
  • Michael Anderson, Actor/Lighting Designer/Gaffer
  • Trevor Stansberry, Art Direction/Graphic Design

Deadringer – CTV North Suburbs 

  • Misha Ardichvili, Producer

Papercut – EagleVision – Eden Prairie High School 

  • Joel Myers, Director/Actor/Writer
  • Jared Myers, Cinematographer/Editor/Writer
  • Shelby Evans, Actor
  • Martin Blanco, Cinematographer

H-07: High School – Non-Fiction

Starfish Academy – Central Campus – Des Moines Public Schools

  • Finnegan Pilcher, Editor
  • Helena Gruensteidl, Writer
  • Brock Stillmunks, Producer
  • Tim Coleman, Advisor

H-08: High School – Sports

Bemidji High School Football Feature 2015-16 Lumberjack Live – Bemidji High School

  • Kelsey Cobenais, Producer

H-09: High School: Sports Program/Series 

** Entries did not meet minimum standard of excellence for awards**

H-10: High School – Sports: Live Event

Apple Valley Football vs. Eagan – Eagle Media Crew – Apple Valley High School

  • Micah Nelson, Director
  • Aron Ghirmai, Graphics
  • Steven Schroeder, Camera Operator
  • Dalton Turner, Camera Operator
  • Connie Knipe, Camera Operator
  • Jake Waxon, Camera Operator
  • Bereket Ketema, Camera Operator
  • Cliff Dodge, Advisor

H-11: High School – Public Service (PSAs)

Bully Rap – Raider Nation News – Lake Park Audubon High School

  • Peter Danielson, Writer
  • Shakhzoda Shokholdorova, Editor
  • Laina Nelson, Editor/Photographer
  • Laureen Svobodny, Advisor

H-12: High School – Public Affairs/Community Service

Spread the Word to End the Word – Raider Nation News – Lake Park Audubon High School

  • Roman Fredrick, Writer/Editor
  • Tim Brekken, Writer/Editor
  • Laureen Svobodny, Advisor

H-13: High School – Commercial

Encore Film Festival – EagleVision – Eden Prairie High School

  • Martin Blanco, Director/Editor
  • Joel Myers, Director/Actor

H-14: High School – Animation/Graphics/Special Effects (***TWO RECIPIENTS***)

Burnsville Football Scoreboard Walkout Video – Burnsville High School

  • Scott Tinkham, Graphic Artist

Michael Sturgill Composite – Eastview High School

H-15: High School: Director

** Entries did not meet minimum standard of excellence for awards**

H-16: High School – Editor

Trip – Young Filmaker’s Club – Eden Prairie High School

  • Martin Blanco, Editor
  • Joel Myers, Editor

H-17: High School: Photographer 

** Entries did not meet minimum standard of excellence for awards**

H-18: High School – Talent

Paul Jenson – Raider Nation News – Lake Park Audubon High School

H-19: High School – Video Essay (Single Camera Only)

Senior Send Off – Eastview High School

  • Jack Groves, Editor
  • Peter Liffrig, Photographer

H-20: High School – Writing

Matt Kotlan – EaglEye – Apple Valley High School