Featured Articles News Student Production Awards

2016 College Awards Recipients

Congratulations to the college/university recipients in the 2016 NATAS-Upper Midwest Student Production Awards!  Recipients were announced at a ceremony on Sunday April 10th, 2016 at the Radisson Blu Hotel at the Mall of America.

This year, the NATAS – Upper Midwest Chapter received more than 260 entries from 40 different high schools and colleges/universities from across our region!

Jay Olstad/KARE-TV
Jay Olstad/KARE-TV

Jay Olstad from KARE-TV hosted the award ceremony and presented Crystal Pillars to the recipients.  The awards are presented to the schools for promotional purposes to encourage students to pursue the media arts.    Any student whose name is on the recipient entry form is eligible to purchase a duplicate Crystal Pillar Award.  We also offer nomination certificates and plaques for students listed on nominated entries.

COLLEGE Student Crystal Pillar order form

Student Nomination Plaque order form

Student Nomination certificate order form

Student Production Crystal Pillar Award
Student Production Crystal Pillar Award

OFFICIAL NATIONAL NATAS RULES FOR STUDENT AWARD PROMOTION: High school & college/university students may refer to the fact that they are recipients of a NATAS – Upper Midwest Regional Student Production Award.  OR, they may say they received a Student Production Crystal Pillar Award from the Upper Midwest Emmy® Chapter/Foundation.   Students are not considered peer professionals and as such, their regional student productions are not eligible for Emmy® award recognition. Schools/students may not use the Emmy® name or replica of the Emmy® figure in any form of school publications, commercial advertising and promotion.

The 2016 College/University Student Television Award Recipients are… 

C-01: College – Newscast (***THREE RECIPIENTS***)

Campus News – Minnesota State University – Moorhead

  • Jordan Schroeer, Producer
  • Ariana Babcock, Associate Producer
  • Nick Broadway, Associate Producer
  • Haley Foster, Associate Producer
  • Onize Ohikere, Associate Producer
  • Thor Thompson, Associate Producer
  • Shaylee Meyer, Associate Producer

LCTV News – Loras College

  • Allison Wong, Producer/Anchor
  • Payton Van Vors, Associate Producer
  • Melissa Link, Associate Producer
  • Dimitri Villanueva, Anchor
  • Aidan Wojciehowski, Sports Anchor
  • Rachel Choice, Live Reporter
  • Kelly Kuboushek, Live Shot Producer
  • Travis Exline, Director
  • Frank Fernandez, Technical Director
  • Craig Schaefer, Advisor

UTVS News – St. Cloud State University

  • Danielle Maroney, News Director
  • Emilio Ramos DeJesus, News Director
  • Sarah Rudlang, Producer  

C-02: College – News: General Assignment – Serious News

Concordia Hosts Relay for Life

Campus News – Minnesota State University – Moorhead

  • Tyrel Filley, Reporter

C-03: College – News: General Assignment – Light News

Light News Intn Students 2015 – Century College

  • Emily Pilacinski, Producer/Editor
  • Spencer Klover, Director/Editor
  • Isaac Overland, Camera Operator

C-04: College – Arts & Entertainment/Cultural Affairs

** Entries did not meet minimum standard of excellence for awards**

C-05: College – Music Video

Lyritics – Roll All Night Ft. Kiradin – The Art Institutes International Minnesota

  • Squall Charlson, Director

C-06: College – Fiction (***THREE RECIPIENTS***)

Defector – Dordt College

  • Kyle Fossé, Writer/Director
  • Jessica Lillo, Producer
  • Jason Miller, Editor
  • Andrew Cameron, Cinematographer
  • Sam Malan, Cinematographer

Hunters of the Shards – University of Minnesota – Twin Cities 

  • Sam Edwards, Producer/Writer/Director/Editor/Cinematographer/Actor
  • Holly Henn, Associate Producer/Assistant Director/Prop/Wardrobe/Makeup Manager/Camera Operator/Actress
  • Sean Adams, Associate Producer/Actor/Camera/Boom Operator
  • Thomas Richey, Actor/Boom Operator
  • Lindsay Lundeen, Actress
  • Mark Neumann-Scott, Advisor

Walk the Past – University of Northwestern – St. Paul

  • Sophie Meath, Director of Photography
  • Laticia Mattson, Editor

C-07: College – Non-Fiction (***TWO RECIPIENTS***)

Existence – Central Lakes College – Central Lakes College

  • Kevin Miller, Producer/Director

The Dam Decision – University of Wisconsin – River Falls

  • Sydney Howell, Director
  • Dan Mariette, Cinematographer

C-08: College – Sports

More Than A Game: The TJ Frericks Story – UTVS – St. Cloud State University

  • Jeremy Klein, Producer
  • Taylor Budge, Videographer

C-09: College – Sports: Program/Series

Husky Faceoff – Husky Productions – St. Cloud State University

  • Jeremy Klein, Producer

C-10: College – Sports: Live Event

Minnesota State vs. Ferris State – Maverick Hockey Weekend – Bethany Lutheran College

  • David Schuyler, Producer
  • Brian Christensen, Director
  • Paul Riediger, Technical Director

SCSU vs Nebraska-Omaha – Husky Productions – St. Cloud State University

  • Katelynn Halter, Producer
  • Erin Godin, Associate Producer
  • Elizabeth Burda, Director
  • Joshua Davis, Technical Director

C-11: College – Public Service (PSAs)

Cell Phone Distractions II – Hennepin Technical College 

  • Sam Schatz, Director
  • Dennis Trevino, Editor
  • Alex Musial, Production Assistant
  • Perry Nguyen, Production Assistant
  • Ethan Pike-Nobile, Writer
  • Richard Oxley, Advisor

C-12: College – Public Affairs/Community Service

An Introduction to Hope Studios and Gallery – Wartburg College

  • Benjamin J Bogard, Producer

C-13: College – Commercial

Wartburg Physics and Chemistry Demo Show Teaser – Wartburg College

  • Benjamin J Bogard, Producer

C-14: College – Animation/Graphics/Special Effects

8-Bit History – Hennepin Technical College

  • Shawn Marpe, Animator
  • Mike Patterson, Animator
  • Stephen Hohertz, Animator

C-15: College – Director

Michael Shynes – Crest Tattoo Studio Session – Hennepin Technical College 

  • Cassandra Shields, Director

 C-16: College – Editor

Michael Shynes – Volunteer – Hennepin Technical College 

  • Dennis Trevino, Editor

C-17: College – Photographer

** Entries did not meet minimum standard of excellence for any nomnations or awards**

C-18: College – Talent

Taylor Budge Composite – UTVS – St. Cloud State University

C-19: College – Video Essay (Single Camera Only)

Live Where You Adventure – Central Lakes College

  • David Rossow, Producer

C-20: College – Writing

Tyrel Filley Composite – Campus News – Minnesota State University – Moorhead