Featured Articles News Scholarships

2014 Scholarship Recipients Announced!

NATAS Logo_Upper MidwestThe National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences – Upper Midwest Chapter/Foundation is proud to announce its 2014 Scholarship recipients.

Each year, NATAS-UMW Chapter/Foundation awards several scholarships to high school and college/university students within our chapter region (Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, Iowa and western Wisconsin).

This year, thanks to help from generous sponsorship contributions from SlumberlandHubbard BroadcastingTwin Cities Public Television, as well as our chapter members and past Gold & Silver Circle recipients, we were able to award $18,000 in scholarships to area students!

Since 2002, the NATAS-UMW Chapter/Foundation has awarded 66 scholarships worth $143,500 to regional students who want to study media or journalism in college


Mareah Adolphs - Loras College
Mareah Adolphs – Loras College

Don Shelby Journalism Scholarship – (Sponsor:  Slumberland)

Mareah Adolphs – Loras College (Dubuque, IA)

Mareah is a Media Studies Major at Loras College in Dubuque, IA. Since last spring, she has been the producer of LCTV News weekly campus newscast. She is currently studying abroad in Lisbon, Portugal but still reporting for the news show. “This scholarship means so much to me because I am able to pursue a career path and a rewarding one at that that gives people so many opportunities in life. I am grateful to have picked a career path where one can tell real stories about people in the community and this award will help me continue to pursue that goal. My future plans include pursuing a career in reporting or producing news.”


Sydney Howell - University of Wisconsin - River Falls
Sydney Howell – University of Wisconsin – River Falls

Twin Cities PBS Media Scholarship – (Sponsor: Twin Cities PBS)

Sydney Howell – University of Wisconsin – River Falls

Sydney is a Junior pursuing a Marketing Communications and Film Studies degree at UW-River Falls.  Starting as a 15 year old camera operator at Town Square Television, Sydney has keep the experiences rolling from 2009 Producer of the Year (for Town Square), Lead Editor for UW-Oshkosh Film Society, Floor Manager and Public Relations for UW-River Falls Focus on U TV station, and (in her spare time) creating movies for competition and the fun of it.  “Film is so much a part of my life, frankly, I couldn’t live without engaging in this media that provides an outlet for creativity, a resource to the community, and a form of expression that celebrates life. Words cannot express my joy in being a recipient of the 2014 NATAS-Upper Midwest Chapter/Foundation Scholarship.  Thank you so much for supporting my dream by keeping the film rolling.”


Nichelle Heu - Harding High School
Nichelle Heu – Harding High School

Pfister Journalism Scholarship (Sponsor: Pfister Family)

Nichelle Heu – Harding High School (St. Paul, MN)

Nichelle is a senior Harding Senior High School. Before the summer of 2013, she was an editor and producer of promotional films and morning announcement videos at school. Given the opportunity to go to Threesixty Summer Camp, and to stay on St.Thomas campus for two weeks learning about journalism and experiencing college life, made her fall in love with broadcasting and writing. “I never knew I would enjoy writing as much as I do now. When I first heard I got the Pfister Journalism Scholarship, I wanted to scream on the top of my lungs…but no one was home. So, I hugged myself, I hugged my door, I hugged my T.v, I hugged my sofa.  I am so thankful and blessed to receive this scholarship to further my education in broadcasting journalism and communications. ”


Christopher Casey - Eastview High School
Christopher Casey – Eastview High School

Midwest Emmy Chapter/Foundation Scholarship – (Sponsor: Hubbard Broadcasting)

Christopher Casey – Eastview High School (Apple Valley, MN)

Christopher is a senior at Eastview High School and has been involved the past two years with the school’s weekly broadcast programs – The 4Cast and The Flash.  In 2013, he was named “Best Reporter” and “Best Show” by the 4Cast team members.  Christopher was also named to the 2013 Journalism Honor Roll.   “I am passionate about reporting and communicating the news.  I have met so many interesting people through interviews and stories I’ve produced and been involved with.  I am thankful to my advisor, Nick Fornicoia, for all he has done to teach me the art of storytelling and to The Flash news team members for their support.”  “I am truly grateful to be a recipient of a NATAS Chapter/Foundation Scholarship and it will help finance my higher education at St. Olaf College where I plan to study Business, Journalism and Political Science. ”


Paige Nelson - Apple Valley High School
Paige Nelson – Apple Valley High School

Midwest Emmy Chapter/Foundation Scholarship – (Sponsor – Slumberland )

Paige Nelson – Apple Valley High School (Minnesota)

Paige is a Senior at Apple Valley High School where she began her broadcast journalism career in a unique class called EaglEye. “I signed up for the class thinking it would be exciting to be on TV,” Paige explained, “I soon learned that producing a quality show takes hard work and an immense amount of time, but thanks to this class I was fortunate to find a passion of mine.” Last year Paige was part of the EaglEye team that won eight 2013 Upper Midwest Regional Student Production awards.  “I would like to thank my teachers Cliff Dodge and Tzitel Voss for giving me the opportunity and the coaching to be successful in this career.  I also would like to thank the NATAS awards for providing the scholarship and helping students follow their dreams. The scholarship will be extremely beneficial in the attempt to make college affordable for my  family including my  triplet sisters.” Paige plans to attend a university in the Fall and work towards a major in broadcast journalism. She hopes to one day be able to share stories that inspire and touch the hearts of others.


Scott Svare - Burnsville High School
Scott Svare – Burnsville High School

Midwest Emmy Chapter/Foundation Scholarship – (Sponsor – Upper Midwest Emmy Foundation & Chapter)

Scott Svare – Burnsville High School – (Minnesota)

Scott is a senior at Burnsville High School.  He has been involved in the Burnsville High School video production program for three years.  Scott has been a member of the school’s weekly news broadcast “The Blaze Weekly,”  a videographer for the football and hockey team, and has produced numerous videos outside of school.   “I would sincerely like the thank the NATAS-Upper Midwest Chapter/Foundation for this scholarship.  This is a significant contribution for pursuing my dreams to become a commercial filmmaker.  It will be greatly appreciated as I begin my journey next fall.”  He plans to attend Normandale College next year and eventually transfer to a larger school to complete his degree in video production.”



If you’d like to help sponsor future NATAS scholarships, follow the link below for a form to send in your fully tax-deductible donation.
Click Here for NATAS-UMW Scholarship Donation form


Hubbard LogoTPT_logoNATAS Logo_Upper Midwest

Slumberland "Making a Difference" Governors Award