News Scholarships

2011 Scholarship Recipients Announced!

NATAS-Upper Midwest Foundation Awards 4 Scholarships in 2011

 The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences – Upper Midwest Chapter/Foundation is proud to announce its 2011 Scholarship recipients.

Each year, NATAS-UMW Chapter Foundation awards $2,500 scholarships to high school students within our chapter region which includes Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, Iowa and western Wisconsin.

This year, our scholarship committee recommended four out of more than a dozen applications to the NATAS-UMW Board of Governor’s which voted and approved the scholarships at its monthly meeting on April 7th, 2011.

Since 2002, the NATAS-UMW Chapter/Foundation has awarded 49 scholarships worth $98,000 to regional students who want to study media or journalism in college.

Ed Piette Leadership Scholarship Recipient Averi Haugesag

Edward J. Piette Leadership Scholarship (Sponsored by Internet Broadcasting):

Averi Haugesag is a senior Eastview High School in Apple Valley, Minnesota.  She got into the TV program there right away in her freshman year.

At Eastview, students have not only broadcast introductory classes, but their own TV show and studio.  Averi dived right into The 4cast her junior year and The Flash her senior year.  The 4cast is a daily news show, and The Flash is a weekly news magazine show. In both The 4cast and The Flash, Averi produced and directed shows, as well as run cameras, report, edit and anchor. 
Averi plans to study journalism and communications this fall at the University of Missouri-Columbia.
“When I found out I had won the NATAS Ed Piette Leadership scholarship, I was more than ecstatic, Haugesag told us.   “I cannot even begin to express how grateful I am to be the recipient of this award.  Having this scholarship money will help me pay for the necessary courses, books, and supplies needed to get myself into the field broadcast journalism. I now have even more drive than before to be successful in my field of study, and I cannot wait to see what the next few years have in store for me,” said Haugesag. 
Don Shelby Scholarship Recipient Ryan Turnquist

Don Shelby Journalism Scholarship (Sponsored by Slumberland):

Ryan Turnquist is a senior at New London High School.  Ryan sees his future in sports journalism and he’s off to a good start working on television sports productions at his school.  Turnquist is also involved with the football, basketball and baseball teams.  He dreams of one day being a broadcaster for his favorite team, the Minnesota Twins.
“It is humbling to receive an award named after such a beloved icon in journalism,” Turnquist said.  “I plan to use this (scholarship) to aid in my pursuit of a major in journalism, “said Turnquist.
Ryan plans to double-major in journalism and mass communications at Augustana College in Sioux Falls, SD.
Foundation Scholarship Recipient Ethan Weiser

Chapter/Foundation Scholarship (Sponsored by Twin Cities Public Television):

Ethan Weiser is a senior at Wayzata High School in Wayzata Minnesota .  This summer Ethan will be interning at Page Productions, which produces three television shows on Spike TV, and the Food Network.  This fall, Ethan will be attending Emerson College in Boston, MA.
“I am thrilled to be receiving this scholarship. From watching TV to filming my friends as a kid, to making short films and interning at television stations,” said Weiser.  “I’ve always wanted to pursue television production, and I’m very thankful that the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences is supporting me in doing it.”

Chapter/Foundation Scholarship (Sponsored by Slumberland):

Kathryn Kilgore is a senior at Park High School in Cottage Grove, MN and plans to study communications at Waldorf College in Forest City, IA. this fall.

Kathryn has been active in news programs in her elementary, junior high and high school.  “I want to thank you the Midwest Emmys, for awarding me the scholarship!, Kilgore said.  “I am so excited to start getting into the mass communications industries, and this scholarship will be very helpful in getting me there! This scholarship is generous, and I feel very blessed to receive it.”



Ed Piette Leadership Scholarship


 Don Shelby Journalism Scholarship
 General Chapter/Foundation Scholarship