Academy Announces New Executive Director

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, Upper Midwest Chapter, announced today the retirement of Teresa Vickery-Pfister who has served as the organization’s Executive Director since its inception in 2000.

“Teresa has been here since day one” said Emmy Trustee Harold Crump.  “She is the one who helped start this organization when others balked at it.”  Chapter President and General Manager of KMSP/WFTC Carol Rueppel presented Vickery-Pfister with her own Emmy Plaque for a decade of exceptional service. “Teresa has been the heart and soul of this organization for 10 years.  Everyone who has ever been a part of the Emmys will miss her,” Rueppel said.

The Chapter has hired John “JJ” Murray as its new Executive Director. Murray is a 20-year industry veteran who currently serves on the Board of Governors. “The Chapter owes a great deal to Teresa for everything she’s done – not only to launch the Upper Midwest Emmys, but also to keep it moving forward since its creation,” said Murray.

A veteran journalist and award-winning educator, Murray currently owns Twin Cities Media, which specializes in journalism training, content development and video marketing for businesses and independent musicians. Murray has served as a Regional Director of the Northwest Broadcast News Association and the Iowa Associated Press, and is a member of the Radio & Television Digital News Organization.

“This is an exciting time for the Upper Midwest Emmys Chapter, as video journalism spreads from the TV to our computers and phones,” Murray said. “This Chapter is committed to honoring media excellence in our region, regardless of market size or video platform. We want anyone who produces video content – newspapers, bloggers, sports teams, city or community news organizations – to know that they are welcome in our organization.” 

Murray becomes the official liaison between the Board of Governors, Chapter members, other Chapters, and the National office. He’ll work in conjunction with the Board of Governors and committee heads to support the Emmy Awards, scholarship program, seminars, workshops, communications, and all other programs.