2018 Upper Midwest Emmy® Student Production Awards

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences – Upper Midwest Emmy® Chapter/Foundation is proud to announce its 2018 Regional Student Production Awards!

Student Production Awards LogoThis competition is open to all high school and college students in our chapter media markets: Minneapolis-St. Paul, Des Moines-Ames, Cedar Rapids-Waterloo-Iowa City-Dubuque, Sioux Falls (Mitchell), Fargo-Valley City, La Crosse-Eau Claire, Duluth-Superior, Sioux City, Rochester-Mason City-Austin, Minot-Bismarck-Dickinson, Rapid City, and Mankato, MN.  Basically, if you go to school in our five state area… you can enter this competition!

These awards recognize outstanding student achievements in production by conferring awards of merit in the chapter’s designated award region.  The presentation of these awards is intended to be an incentive for the continued pursuit of excellence by those studying media and journalism and to focus public attention on outstanding cultural, educational, technological, entertainment, news and informational achievements by undergraduate college and/or high school students.

Student Crystal Pillar Award

Eligibility Period: Entries must have been produced for class or for school media platform between January 1st, 2017 – December 31st, 2017.

Entry Deadline:  Monday February 5th,  2018 

FEES: (Cover administrative & online video hosting/judging expenses.) Entries must be complete with video uploaded by deadline to receive early bird discount rate. Any entries changed after early bird deadline will be changed to regular rates.

High School:

Early Bird rate (Dec. 4th, 2017 – Jan. 5th, 2018) $25 per-entry

Regular rate (Jan. 6th, 2018 – Feb. 5th, 2018) $35 per-entry


Early Bird rate (Dec. 4th, 2017 – Jan. 5th, 2018) $30 per-entry

Regular rate (Jan. 6th, 2018 – Feb. 5th, 2018) $40 per-entry

All video entries uploaded and judged online!  

2018 College/University Student Awards Call for Entries Rules & Categories

2018 High School Student Awards Call for Entries Rules & Categories

NOTE: Regional High School recipients will automatically advance to a national competition. Winners of the National awards will be announced in the fall of 2018. For more information visit the website:   http://emmyonline.org/nationalstudent


Student Awards Double- Dipping Rules Defined


To Submit an Entry

  1. Complete online information for your entry and submit it.  You can pay for entries by check or by credit card.  Click here to submit entry/entrant information.
  2. Entrants!!!  Be sure to select “H” categories for high school or “C” for College categories.
  3. HIGHLIGHT TIMECODE!!! On your entry form, you will be asked for Time Code for a highlight clip.  Please enter a 30-second timecode of the best part of your entry so we may use it if the entry is selected as a nominee and/or recipient.
  4. Successfully upload your video to the Upper Midwest Regional Student production Awards site.  Click here to upload video.
  5. Got Questions?  952-381-7494 or email info@midwestemmys.org

Any Award entry materials/payments are to be mailed/delivered to: NATAS-Upper Midwest Student Production Awards 7319 Hunters Run  Eden Prairie, MN 55346.  Entry deadline is February 5th, 2018.  

NATAS-UMW will announce Student Production Awards Nominees on our website on Monday, March 12th, 2018.

2018 NATAS-UPPER MIDWEST STUDENT PRODUCTION AWARDS CEREMONY:  We will honor this year’s award recipients at a special ceremony on Friday evening April 13th, 2018 at the Crowne Plaza Aire hotel in Bloomington, Minnesota. We will update ceremony and registration details when we announce our 2017 Student Production Award Nominees.

STUDENT PRODUCTIONS: Students are not considered peer professionals and as such, their regional student productions are not eligible for Emmy® award recognition. If material is produced as part of a class, for which school credit is received, they are considered a student. If they are paid or working on a project with other “professionals,” and want to enter the Chapter’s Emmy® Award competition, they cannot enter as a student, but instead must pay the appropriate entries fees as an active NATAS member (or non-member). The student is then prohibited from entering subsequent student production categories with other classmates. Student award recipients from any NATAS Chapters’ high school or college competitions may not use the Emmy® name or replica of the Emmy® figure in any form of commercial advertising or promotion for their recognition.

Student award recipients may not use the Emmy® name or replica of the Emmy® figure in any form of commercial advertising or promotion. 

The NATAS – Upper Midwest Chapter/Foundation is an IRS certified 501 (c) 3 non-profit organization.

Comments are closed.